Online Chinese

Confucius Institute has spearheaded the development of two online learning programs to aid in learning Chinese.

The Rutgers Multimedia Chinese Teaching System (RMCTS) is a Web-based multimedia curriculum to supplement beginning to advanced Chinese language instruction at Rutgers. The beginning and elementary lessons consist of mainly conversations, while the intermediate and advanced lessons consist of prose and narratives. The lessons at the beginning level are accompanied by audios, vocabulary, pinyin, grammar notes, sentence patterns, etc.
Rutgers Multimedia Chinese Teaching System (university level 1-4)

The Rutgers Confucius Institute Multimedia Chinese Teaching System for K-12 is an up-to-date and methodically developed resource for teaching and learning the Chinese language and culture. The material in this program is divided into three levels: Level 1 is equivalent to Beginner Elementary proficiency, Level 2 is equivalent to High Elementary and Level 3 is equivalent to Low Intermediate. Each level consists of 10 lessons that are sequenced in regard to language functions, vocabulary and grammatical structure.
Rutgers Confucius Institute Multimedia Chinese Teaching System (K-12)

CIRU won an international award in 2008 for their online Chinese learning system. For full article, click here.

Contact Us


Confucius Institute at Rutgers University(CIRU)
24 College Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901

P: (848) 932-2490
F: (732) 932-7324
E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.